'Baghdad Wedding' tops META Awards

7 years ago

"Baghdad Wedding", a tale of three friends torn between two worlds and a marriage that goes horribly wrong, won three trophies including best play at the Mahindra theatre awards that also saw Lillete Dubey walking away with the best actress recognition.


The winners of the Mahindra Excellence in Theatre Awards (META), recognising and honouring the finest in Indian theatre, were announced here on Wednesday night after the six-day festival where nine of nation's best theatre productions performed.


While Dubey was awarded for her performance in "Adhe Adhure", the best actor award went to Sandip Bhattacharya for his role in "Santaap". Praveen Kumar Gunjan was adjudged the best director for "Samjhouta".


Akarsh Khurana's "Baghdad Wedding", cited by critics as a "production of great value", also won the best supporting actress award (Nimrat Kaur) and best ensemble. The best supporting actor trophy went to Anirudha Bhattacharya for his role in "Santaap".


Assamese play "Sup-Ek-Prahashan", dealing with the theme of exploitation and suppression of the common man by using the traditional theatre form of Ankiya Nat and directed by Ashim Kumar Sharma, won two awards - best costume design and best choreography.


Hindi play "Samjhouta", which presents the world as a circus and showcases a story of a young man who is helpless in the circumstances and situations around him, bagged the best original script award (Suman Kumar).


Manipuri play "A Far Cry" won trophies for best stage design (T Shachikumar) and best sound design (N Tiken). The best sound design award was shared by Veda Shankar of the Alfred Hitchcock-inspired "The 39 Steps" which also won the best lighting design trophy (Pritham Kumar).


The lifetime achievement went to Khaled Choudhury. "At META, all nominees are winners since it gives them a unique platform to showcase their talent to an eminent jury and the general public," said Ravi Dubey, creative director for META.


The five-member jury consisted of Amal Allana, Ananda Lal, Darshan Jariwala, Mukund Padmanabhan and Samik Bandyopadhyay. PTI


Related Posts