'ZNM', 'Dirty Picture' lead IIFA 2012 nominations

7 years ago

Zoya Akhtar's road trip drama "Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara" and Vidya Balan's "The Dirty Picture" lead the nominations at the 13th annual International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) awards to be held in Singapore.


"ZMND" leads the tally with 14 nods including best film, best actor for Hrithik Roshan, Farhan Akhtar and Abhay Deol for best supporting actor, Zoya Akthar for best director and best music for Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy.


It is followed by Ekta Kapoor's runaway success "The Dirty Picture" with 13 nominations including best film, best actress for Vidya Balan and best director for Milan Luthria. Imtiaz Ali's "Rockstar" follows closely with 9 nominations to its credit with him bagging a nod for best director, best film, best actor for Ranbir Kapoor and AR Rahman for best music.


Salman Khan's record breaking blockbuster "Bodyguard" has also received seven nods. Other actors nominated in the best actor category are Amitabh Bachchan for "Aarakshan", Salman Khan for "Bodyguard", Shah Rukh Khan for "Don 2" and Ajay Devgn for "Singham". In the female category actress Priyanka Chopra "7 Khoon Maaf", Kareena Kapoor "Bodyguard", Mahie Gill "Saheb Biwi aur Gangster" and Kangna Ranaut "Tanu weds Manu" will come face to face.


Raj Kumar Gupta for "No One Killed Jessica", Rohit Shetty for "Singham" have also been nominated for their work in the field of direction.


Actors Irrfan Khan (7 Khoon Maaf), Boman Irani (Don 2), Vidyut Jammwal (Force), Prakash Raj (Singham), Naseeruddin Shah (The Dirty Picture) have received a nod each for their outstanding portrayal of villains in films.


In the best music category, Vishal Bhardwaj for "7 Khoon Maaf", Sohail Sen for "Mere Brother Ki Dulhan", Vishal-Shekhar for "RaOne" will be vying for trophy. In the playback singer category Shreya  Ghoshal has bagged two nominations for her songs 'Teri Meri' and 'Ooh La La'.


Usha Uthup & Rekha Bhardwaj for 'Darling', Sunidhi Chauhan for 'Te Amo' and Harshadeep Kaur for 'Katiya Karunhave' have also been nominated.


Singer Mika Singh has been nominated in the male playback category for 'Subha Hone na De', Ash King for 'I Love You', Rahat Fateh Ali Khan for 'Teri Meri', Mohit Chauhan for 'Nadaan Parinde' and Kamal Khan for 'Ishq Sufiyana'.


The online voting process has already started and is open to audiences of Indian Cinema from across the world. IIFA awards will be held on June 9. PTI


Related Posts